Starting Right

I’ve discovered something about myself: how I start the day makes a huge impact in the rest of my day.

Case in point: Saturday morning not five minutes after I woke up there was a knocking on my door. When I opened the door I was greeted by an older man in a black trench coat who informed me I needed to move my car. He did not ask me which car was mine, but instead told me immediately “you need to move your car.” in all actuality my car was parked on the opposite side of the street and did not need to be moved. Seth’s car did need to be moved, but he was out of town for the weekend. This thirty second interaction left me so peeved, who did this man think he was to demand I move my car when he didn’t even know which car was mine? The mere thought of going out in the cold, when it had snowed the night before, made me want to crawl back in my warm bed and never leave. I did move Seth’s car and when I came back I put my pajamas and stayed in them for hours.

That was not starting right. My day was a disaster. I had no motivation to do anything, not even to walk to the kitchen and pour myself a cup of coffee. I had loads of laundry to do, but couldn’t gather the motivation to start, couldn’t think about doing the dishes, or let alone vacuuming the rug.

I have discovered if I sit on the couch first thing in the morning, I will not get up until the absolute last second. On Saturday I could be there all day. Now that I am out of school and don’t have the pressure of any deadlines I don’t manage my time nearly as well as I used to. Even though there isn’t anything I am required to do, I end the day feeling extremely unproductive and as though my day has been wasted.

On the other hand, if I get up and walk to the kitchen, start the coffee, and put away dishes, I am more likely to have a productive day. After that I might just start a load of laundry and take a shower before the laundry goes into the dryer. Then I might just decide to sweep the apartment and clean the bathroom. I might or might not turn on the tv and I might check my phone, but I’m not turning into a total vegetable.

My goal for this year is to start right. Every day. Every. Single. Day.

Leave a Reply

